love · Uncategorized

Part 2 – Music

He saw the book on the table. Primal Fear. Hmmm. Weird book for her, thought she was like the romantic novel types. “You reading this? Didn’t know you were a psycho.” He smiled. Gotta relax, he thought. Is it really hot here? I’m sweating like a pig. Whew. You got this man, you got this. Just breathe and it will be over soon. “What, you came here just to taunt me? I just like this stuff, you know. Better than cheesy love stories that you know will end in a happy ever after.” she said, pouting her lips. He smiled. “I was just teasing. I’ve actually read that book too. Plot twist is amazing.” She looked up to him and was quite surprised that he reads. A few minutes ago he stood there at the front door like a plank. Now he looks so cool, so composed. That’s what she likes about him. He always seemed so sure about himself, and he was funny too. “Shut up before you ruin it for me. I’m just getting to the good parts.” He chuckled and seated himself near the patio. It was a cool, bright afternoon and the wind was blowing softly. He stared at her, and his heart started beating like a drum again. How do I tell her without sounding like a jackass, he thinks to himself. She might think I’m joking. Talk about the weather? Nah, quite obvious. Should I say she looks better without make up? No, that’s not right. She looks so cute with that crinkle on her nose when she gets mad at me. Come on, man, tell her now while you still can.

“Umm, I have to tell you something.” She looks up, wiping away a little strand of hair from her face, tucking it carefully behind her ear. His heart was pounding louder than ever between his ears. “What?” Bzzzzzzzt. “Hold that thought, got someone at the door.”

***

She walks to the front door, thinking about what he was supposed to say. He’s a big weird today, definitely quiet. She’s known him since their first year in high school, they were seatmates. He would always tease her about everything. He was such a big bully, but he was protective of her. He would wait for her during breaks and they would just talk, mostly about the books she reads or the places she wanted to go to. He would tease her about other boys and she would pout and he’d chuckle. At first it was nothing, but then something changed in her.

There was a talent show at school that time, and he was one of the performers. He went on his guitar on stage, and started playing. He sang as if he was the only person in the room, and it was so beautiful that everyone just listened.

Wish I knew if I could
Be the one that you would
Love forever and a day
And if there’s a thing that you need
For you and your blood I would bleed
If ever you yearn for the love in me

And their eyes met. She knew right then that she was in love. He smiled at her and her heart melted. Then the music stopped.

Bzzzzzt. “Wait a minute,” she said as she got to the door.

***

 

Leave a comment