Uncategorized

Part 4 – Confessions

Years ago I was playing guitar at the talent show in school. I didn’t want to go, because I didn’t think I was good enough to play, but our teacher threatened to fail me if I didn’t do it. I was a nervous wreck, so I closed my eyes. I felt the words as I sang, and I thought of you.

Lead me on, girl if you must
Take my heart and my love,
Take of me all that you want.

I saw your face, and I remembered the way your nose would crinkle every time I said Backstreet Boys sucked and that guy in The Moffats was gay.

And if there’s a thing that you need
I’d give you the breath that I breathe
And if ever you yearn for the love in me

I see your eyes shine bright whenever you read one of your love stories, and I smile to myself because I love seeing you like that. You don’t know how beautiful you are with your nose stuck in a book.
And if there’s a thing that you need
For you and your blood I would bleed
If ever you yearn for the love in me

I opened my eyes and saw you, looking at me. Then it came rushing in. I love you. Since that day I knew I loved you. I was just too dumb and too shy to admit it. I was scared you’d run away if I told you, and losing you would be the worst thing for me. So I shut my mouth and hoped it would go away. But it didn’t. So now, I’m taking my chance, to tell you that I love you.

***

Leave a comment